United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

June 24, 2021

The Honorable Jeffrey A. Merkley Chairman Appropriations Subcommittee on Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies 142 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Lisa Murkowski Ranking Member Appropriations Subcommittee on Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies 125 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Merkley and Ranking Member Murkowski:

We thank the Subcommittee for the strong support provided for Holocaust education programming at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (USHMM) in Fiscal Year 2021 (FY21). Maintaining \$2 million in funding to support the implementation of the Never Again Education Act (P.L. 116-141) is necessary to support and strengthen Holocaust education programs given the startling lack of knowledge and awareness of the Holocaust among Millennials and Generation Z and to combat disturbing increases in Holocaust distortion.

In 2020, the Conference on Jewish Material Claims Against Germany (Claims Conference), released the U.S. Millennial Holocaust Knowledge and Awareness Survey, the first-ever 50-state survey on Holocaust knowledge among Millennials and Gen Z. The surprising results highlight a grave lack of basic Holocaust knowledge among younger Americans, including such basic facts as who was ultimately responsible for the Holocaust. 63 percent of respondents did not know that 6,000,000 Jews were murdered in the Holocaust and nearly half of respondents were unable to name a single concentration camp or ghetto.

Over the past decade, Holocaust distortion has grown in intensity, with half of the Holocaust Knowledge and Awareness Survey respondents reported seeing Holocaust denial or distortion posts on social media or elsewhere online. Holocaust distortion misrepresents the historical record, allowing bad actors to trivialize, excuse, and diminish the horrors of the Holocaust, all while dishonoring those who were persecuted and murdered and reinforcing the need for advancing accurate Holocaust education. Earlier this year, the United Nations, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), the Holocaust and United Nations Outreach Programme, and World Jewish Congress, gathered to develop research, guidance and resources to strengthen educational responses to Holocaust denial and distortion. These tools aim to promote historical literacy and to prevent antisemitism by building individuals' capacity to distinguish the irrefutable facts of the Holocaust from attempts to distort its history.

Through overwhelming bipartisan agreement last year, Congress enacted the Never Again Education Act to establish a dedicated federal fund through USHMM to provide teachers with resources and training necessary to teach our students the important lessons of the Holocaust and resist the growing efforts by Antisemitic actors to distort facts about the Holocaust. The additional resources authorized under the Never Again Education Act provide USHHM with funding to advance the quality and sustainability of Holocaust education at the local, State, and national levels by engaging teachers and students across disciplines and grade levels.

We thank the Subcommittee for prior support for Holocaust education programming at USHMM and request for FY22 the Subcommittee include \$2 million as authorized under the Never Again Education Act to keep our vows to victims of the Holocaust and truly commit to "Never Again."

Sincerely,

lardin

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator

Jacky Rosen

ni lun

Kevin Cramer

Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

Maggie Hansa Margaret Wood Hassan

Margaret Wood Hassan United States Senator

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

aterow

Debbie Stabenow United States Senator

icu

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

R., UNWS

Raphael G. Warnock United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen

Edward J. Markey

Shurrod Brown

Sherrod Brown

Tammy Duckwatt

Tamm Duckworth United States Senator

Maria Cantwell

Kyrsten Sinema